Workshop: Machine learning tools for species identification and fish size estimation in recreational and small-scale fisheries - Day 1

Published: 26/05/2022

Programme 

May 2 (14.00-16.00 UTC)

Starting at 7.00 PDT (Vancouver), 10.00 EDT (New York), 16.00 CEST (Berlin), 19.30 IST (Delhi)

Asta Audzijonyte (Nature Research Center, Lithuania & University of Tasmania, Australia). Introduction, anglers, citizen science and fish size data 

Daniel Pauly (University of British Columbia, FishBase, Canada). Citizen science data and FishBase

Christian Skov (Technical University of Denmark). Fangstjournalen: a citizen science program for anglers

Sean Simmons (MyCatch and Angler's Atlas, Canada). Citizen science in fisheries research: angler generated data, validation techniques and opportunities for machine learning 

Lisa Kellogg (Virginia Institute of Marine Science, USA). RecFish: engaging recreational anglers as community scientists: Overview

Harshil Shah (DXFactor): RecFish: engaging recreational anglers as community scientists: Technical details

Nathaniel (Than) Hitt (U.S. Geological Survey): Deep learning for stream fish conservation using images for individual recognition

Discussion 

University of TasmaniaInstitute of Marine and Antarctic StudiesCSIRO Department of the EnvironmentGEOS
© copyright Centre for Marine Socioecology 2022
About this site
Top